Tags

, , , ,

Autumn is my favorite time of year.  There’s a peacefulness in the cool breezes and the falling leaves that helps me to appreciate the things that matter to me.  It just feels like a time for deep breathing and taking a step back.  There’s a quietness to these few months, much needed after the rush and bustle of Summertime.  Autumn is the time of year I always associate with writing.  Even before I found NaNoWriMo I enjoyed pulling out a notebook and feeling inspired by the crispness of the air outside and the falling of the colorful leaves.  There’s just something magical about autumn, something fantastic about the changing of the seasons.  Nature becomes something else, something more beautiful than summer.  It is colors and beauty and a feeling like anything grand can happen at any moment and everything will still be okay.  Autumn holds the only kind of change I can think of that doesn’t scare me.  I wonder why that is.

On Sunday the Walking Dead comes back on, and I’m all caught up and ready to watch.  I’m pretty excited.  I don’t usually like scary things.  Beauty and the Beast: The Enchanted Christmas scares the stuffing out of me.  Seriously.  No joke.  Watch this video.  It is just terrifying.  Maybe it’s because it’s such a bastardization of the original Beauty and the Beast (which is one of Disney’s BEST films), I don’t know.  Does this movie even make sense?  How does it even fit into the original story?!  It doesn’t!  And it gives me nightmares!

(( On a completely unrelated note, I wish I had video capturing software implanted into my body because I need to share with everyone just how effing cute my nephew is all of the time.  He just came in all cute with his ‘I want to share with you’ voice and said,  “Auntie Jammy, you want to put up these Halloween stickers in your window and mine tonight?  Everyone will love them.”  OMFG KID.  Who can say no to that?  And last night he came in and told me to stay in his heart forever (and to stop “leaving in the middle of the night” for work).  His words.  I love him so much. ))

What was I talking about?  Oh, yes.  The Walking Dead.  Watching this show makes me even more terrified to walk out to my car alone in the dark every morning because walkers might get me, and I don’t enjoy feeling scared at all, but I have. to. watch.  I avoid scary movies like the plague, and yet I can’t get enough of this show.  I even considered writing a Walking Dead fanfic for NaNoWriMo this year.  I considered it, but decided not to.

On Monday the new Lord of the Rings Online expansion, Riders of Rohan, comes out.  I’m excited for new content.  I’m excited for my friends to log in again after months of some of them not logging in at all because it gets boring when nothing new is released.  This means I’ll be posting screenshots galore, and maybe even leveling a new character.  But the fun will only last two weeks, and then I’ll be taking a month off from gaming and reading and doing much of anything aside from writing and working because of NaNoWriMo.  So in the two weeks that I’ll be gone from the game, all of my friends will have leveled their characters to 85 (the new level cap) and done all of the things.  That’s okay.  Maybe I’ll find the time to log in for a little while each week just to chat with them, even if I can’t do any group activities.  Writing is time consuming.  Just getting out the 1’667 word count every day is going to take hours of sitting at my computer, exhausting my brain.  Writing makes me tired, but it makes me a good kind of tired.  Not a bored kind of tired.  Writing makes me feel accomplished and proud.  I’m ready for that feeling again.

