Tags

, , ,

I feel like baking, but I don’t have the ingredients to make anything.  I bought flour yesterday to make dumplings (for chicken and dumplings, which turned out to be a hit) and then left it at my dad’s.  The flour, not the chicken and dumplings.  I don’t want to go anywhere today, so baking is out.  Perhaps tomorrow I won’t be feeling so lazy.

Halloween is in seven days, which means NaNoWriMo is in eight.  I’m nowhere near ready to write because I’m not very knowledgeable about my chosen genre, but the library in town has crap for references – and the internet is hiding information from me.

I went to the library the other day and got a library card.  I was pretty excited, but all I found for research was climate information and crop information – which will play a small role in my novel, but not very much.  I’m going to throw it out there: my novel is going to be based in Colonial New England.  There is a lot to be found online about Revolutionary America, but there isn’t much I can find on what life was like in Colonial New England.  I need specifics.  Either there’s just a lack of information out there on the interwebs, or I’m very bad at utilizing search engines – in which case my 10th grade web design teacher Mr. Silva would be rather disappointed since we spent the first week on how to use search engines.  (Never mind that that was 13 years ago!)  (Also Google was in existence, but Yahoo was still the search engine of the masses at that point in time.)

(Also no, I do not feel old.)

So I need to do a little bit more research, but I ask you: If something isn’t on the internet, does it even exist?

When I was at the library the other day there was a Mouth Breather sitting directly behind me at the computers.  I detest Mouth Breathers.  This person was obviously sick, but seriously.  What the heck are you doing at a public library using a PUBLIC DEVICE if you are sick!?  NOBODY WANTS YOUR GERMS AND YOU ARE FORCING THEM ON EVERYONE.

It kind of sucks that I bought Thesis last year and now I can’t use it.  Free web hosting is lame (like Mouth Breathers).  This blog is so ugly, I can’t get over it.  There isn’t a hint of me in any of the pre-designed WP themes, and it makes me not want to write most of the time.  I don’t want to switch to Blogger, because I absolutely detest it, but it seems to be easier to customize than free WordPress.

Still feeling lost on the internet, in so many ways.

