Tags

,

One of the things I do when I’m supposed to be writing my NaNo book is make things that have absolutely nothing to do with getting my story written down.  Anticipating this, last night I made a couple of images just to get a bit of it out of my system.

The first one is on the sidebar of my blog.  If you click on it, it takes you to my NaNoWriMo profile, and there you can request to be my writing buddy.

The second one is the one at the top of the page here that I made to post at the beginning of my blog posts for the duration of NaNoWriMo.  I probably (hopefully) won’t be blogging every single day this month, but I’ll want to share my progress with anyone who cares.  Or with no one, which is totally okay with me.

I’m prone to distractions the majority of the time, not just during this super-stressful time of the year with holidays coming up and, you know, a novel to write.  I decided a few years ago that reading was banned during November, because if I’m reading I am NOT going to write.  I also need to keep food and things away from my desk, and then tell myself that if I can just finish so many words, I’ll be allowed to grab a snack or make a delicious dinner for my husband.  Or watch a pre-recorded television show, or play Lord of the Rings Online.  Or go to sleep.

I spent about an hour and a half just laying in bed this morning, thinking about my story.  Over the past few weeks I’ve felt increasingly disenchanted with the plot I’ve been considering, but as of this morning my confidence in my story idea has been renewed five hundred percent.  I just wish I could have taken the month off to write.  I don’t have time to write at work like I did when I won in 2009.  I’m at a different kind of job, I don’t have a desk or a computer to work on, and I don’t have time between responsibilities and customers to write.  I would actually get in trouble for writing at work.

*le sigh*  Time to get my nephew on the bus and then get back to writing.  Maybe we’ll go to breakfast.  I think Walter wants to go out, and I’m inclined to agree with him.  I don’t want to waste time cooking and then doing the breakfast dishes, and if I’m going to be ignoring him all day in favor of my computer screens the least I can do is give him an hour of my attention over food.

Word Count:  965
Overall progress:  965

(If this blog post counted, I’d almost achieve my word count for the day.)

What kinds of things distract you when you’re supposed to be working?

