Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve had a hard time picking books to read lately.  I haven’t wanted to read anything new in months.  Last night I finished reading the Dark Elf Trilogy by R. A. Salvatore (it’s one of my personal favorites), and now I’m wondering what to read next.

I picked up the new Sevenwaters book that came out in November, Flame of Sevenwaters, and I put off reading it right away.  I’m afraid to read it, because it’s the end.  It’s the last of the books in the Sevenwaters series by Juliet Marillier, and I don’t want it to end.  (Pre-separation anxiety?)  It’s the most fantastic series of books I’ve ever read (especially the first book, Daughter of the Forest).  And after I finish reading a particularly amazing series, I always feel like there’s nothing left out there.  I might start reading Flame of Sevenwaters tonight.  We’ll see.

But what about after that?

I tried to read The Life of Pi, but I couldn’t get into it.  Maybe I’ll try it again.

In the past year, I’ve re-read the Dark Elf Trilogy, the Harry Potter series, The Hobbit, the Symphony of the Ages trilogy, a few of Sarah Dessen’s books, The Diary of Anne Frank, Atlas Shrugged, the Twilight books, The Hunger Games trilogy, The Gallaghers of Ardmore trilogy, The Other Boleyn Girl, and probably some others that my tired brain can’t remember right now.  The only new books I can think of that I’ve read in the past year are a few romance novels by Valerie Sherwood and this one really crummy romance novel on my phone.

I just haven’t wanted to read anything new.  I’ve wanted the known, the comfortable stories.  I still don’t really want to read anything new, but I’m out of re-reading material and I think I need to read something new to get out of this re-reading funk.

I need some books recommendations, something from the dystopian, historical fantasy, historical fiction, or historical romance genres preferably.  I’m probably going to go book shopping at some point this month, so I’ll make a list of good looking books and check them out.

