I’ve always wanted things to be perfect right away when I’m doing something new. I have no patience when I know what I want (which is basically all of the time), and until I got married I always gave myself what I wanted pretty much when I wanted it. Having someone to make decisions with puts a stop to that kind of thing, and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t pout about. Often.

When we moved into our new apartment I immediately wanted to go out and buy everything I didn’t have so that it would be perfect. It’s expensive getting your own place, because you have to get things you took for granted everywhere else. Kitchen table, extra cupboard space, dishes, racks for cupboards, a couch, bookshelves, chairs, a toaster. These are just a few of the things we still need (except for the kitchen table, which will be here next week thanks to Jean!!). It really bothers me that we don’t have these things yet, and I have to keep telling myself that it’s ok to not have everything right away. I know what I want, but I can’t just go out an get it, not when we’re still trying to pay down the credit card.

I’m slowly learning to be thankful for the things I have instead of just constantly wishing for the things I want. It isn’t easy to change your outlook on life when, if you’re like me, you’ve given yourself everything you’ve ever had a hankering for. But I’m doing it. I can’t say that I’m learning patience, but maybe that, too, will one day come.

