Tags

, , , , ,

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes

Silver white winters that melt into springs
These are a few of my favorite things

This song has been stuck in my head all morning.  And so I figured I would use it to inspire one of those cliché Favorite Movies/Books/Stories/Whatever posts that make the weblines during the Christmas season.

Because guys, I’m that cool.

Also I just love The Sound of Music, which Sarah basically hates because of me.  TOO BAD, SARAH.  <3

A few years ago I made a post about my favorite Christmas movies, and mostly those haven’t changed.  Obviously it was on my old blog and so it is not here, so I can’t link to it because that page doesn’t exist anymore.  But every year my favorite Christmas movies are basically the same:  Home Alone, A Muppet Family Christmas, Love Actually, A Charlie Brown Christmas, Rocky IV, Elf, The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus, and Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer.  I watched Love Actually the other night, and tonight after stocking shopping I intend to force The Destroyer to watch The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus with me, because I DVR’d it on ABC Family.  And tomorrow night I will watch Christmas Every Day, a cheesy ABC Family original movie that I fell in love with years ago and haven’t seen since, because I also DVR’d that.

I love my DVR.

This year The Destroyer and I actually have a place of our own, and we’ve decorated it a wee bit, but with both money and space being tight I had to make my own Christmas tree.  Out of cardboard.  BUT IT CAME OUT AWESOME, so I’m not really sad about it.

ohchristmastree

And yes, that is a golden glittery Mario Star on top of my tree. I got skillz.

I hung a string of lights with garland, the way my mother always used to do, around the entryway between the kitchen and living room.  And I hung our stockings, one on each side.  I love Christmas lights.  I like to drive around looking at them.  I like to have them hanging in my house.  They are one of the magical things about Christmastime that never grows old for me.

IMG_1826

Please excuse the messy apartment. >.<

Holidays were always my mom’s thing.  She loved them, especially Christmas.  Decorating and giving gifts and doing things for everyone was what she loved at Christmastime.  She liked to see other people enjoying themselves.  I wish I could be more like her that way.  But I digress.

I bought some owl themed holiday kitchen towels that are wicked cute.

owl towels

Owlidays! GET IT?! :D

I love owls.  Not just at Christmas, but all the days.  I want to have owl themed everything for ALL THE HOLIDAYS.  Also all the regular days of the year.

This Christmas I will bring my video camera, and I will take videos and pictures and not forget the way I keep doing year after year.  I hate that I’m always forgetting them, because when I was a young adult I never went anywhere without a camera.  I documented everything that way, but somewhere along the path from there to here I’ve simply fallen out of the habit.

I’m fairly excited that I don’t have to work Christmas day, and I’m also pretty sure I get paid for it anyway.  WIN FOR ME.  The Destroyer and I will be having breakfast at my dad’s with Oddie and Rob, and then around 2 we will go to my aunt’s house to do Christmas presents and dinner there.  I love my family.  I love spending time with them, just hanging out and talking and being together.  I miss my mom a lot, but I know she wouldn’t want me to be sad on Christmas so I’ll try my very best to enjoy the moments and not dwell on what is missing.

My house is so cluttered, I’m going to use the After Christmas Purge to throw out anything I’m sick of looking at or that is getting in my way and we don’t use.  I quite look forward to it, actually.  We have way too much stuff for our little apartment, so to the dump with it!  Also maybe I’ll bring another tote or two of things to my grandmother’s house to keep in the basement, because let’s face it: I’m a pack rat and I need things, even if I don’t use them.

I really wish I had A Muppet Family Christmas on DVD.  That would totally make my world.  I’ll put that on my list of things to search hard for, for next year.

Happy holidays, everyone!  I hope all your Christmases and seasonal holidays that you celebrate are awesome!  If I sent you a Christmas card, it might be a wee bit late, but I hope you enjoy them anyway.  Stay tuned after Christmas for a barrage of photos that most of you won’t understand or even care about!

